Healthy Apple and Pear Crumble (dairy free, sugar free)

Anyone who lives in the UK will know just how hot last week’s heat wave was. Apparently it was the hottest September recorded within 52 years! Now that’s saying something. Normally by the end of August summer weather here in South East England begins to be replaced by dropping temperatures, cloudy skies and constant rain! My mum was saying to me during the heat wave- “It’s never been THIS hot in the middle of September!” I couldn’t agree any less. It was so humid and having to wear my school uniform (one year left!) in the heat was NOT nice.

Nevertheless, after a night which consisted of a huge thunderstorm, lightning and rain, we finally have the ‘normal’ British September weather back. It’s funny to think that last week I was dying to take my socks off and now I am starting to turn towards my endless supplies of woolly socks and jumpers. I guess this is a sign that Summer 2016 is over and Autumn has arrived!

Whenever the weather is cold, particularly during autumn months I always crave something warm and comforting to (obviously) eat. I finally have an excuse to use all my favourite spices in every single recipe I bake! I particularly LOVE fruit crumbles, but I always find it hard to make one at home without having my mum complaining how she’ll eat it all when she is not supposed to. As a result I researched a few healthy alternatives to fruit crumble to remake a wholesome yet delicious guilt free dessert- which I guess gives you a perfect excuse to top it with a scoop of vanilla icecream or custard. A bowl of this with a hoodie, blanket and a film is my idea of a perfect weekend.

img_6894

INGREDIENTS                                                                       

 Serves 2-3

Filling

  • 500g mixture of apples and pears
  • 1/2 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1-2 Tbs maple syrup
  • 2 Tbs raisins/ cranberries
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • dash of nutmeg (optional)

Crumble

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 3 Tbs ground almonds
  • 3 Tbs desiccated coconut (optional)
  • 3 Tbs wholewheat flour
  • Sliced almonds to sprinkle on top
  • 1 1/2 Tbs coconut oil/ you can substitute with melted butter but it won’t be dairy free
  • 2 Tbs maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

METHOD        

  1. Preheat your oven to 170-175 degrees Celcius
  2. To make you crumble topping whisk all the dry ingredients into a medium bowl before stirring in the melted butter/ coconut oil. Set this aside.
  3. Peel and dice your apples and pears to approximately half inch cubes and place JUST the apples into a medium saucepan along with the lemon juice, maple syrup and spices. Cook this on a medium heat until the apples begin to soften.
  4. Next add in the dried fruit and chopped pears. Continue to cook until all the fruit has softened completely.
  5. Spoon the fruit mixture into a 18cm or 20cm dish then sprinkle on your crumble topping and finally sliced almonds.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown. Serve warm if used for a dessert with icecream or custard (this is optional) or enjoy cold as a filling breakfast.

Hayeon X

2 thoughts on “Healthy Apple and Pear Crumble (dairy free, sugar free)

Leave a Reply

